Massachusetts New State Headlight Law Starts on April 7, 2015
April 3, 2015
If you need your windshield wipers on, you need your headlights and tail lights on.
Effective April 7, 2015, a new Massachusetts law requires that you turn on your headlights and tail lights whenever you turn on your windshield wipers. The new law also requires you to use your headlights and tail lights when visibility is less than 500 feet. Failure to follow the new law could result in a ticket and an insurance surcharge.
Massachusetts joins 18 other states that specifically require headlights to be in use when windshield wipers are on. Even-though the cost for violating this new law is $5.00, a driver who gets ticketed for a headlights offense may also face insurance surcharges.